One of my new favorite places on earth

I have found one of my new favorite places on earth: Samich Resort in Nyaru, Kenya, about a half hour’s drive from Eldoret. The air is clear and crisp, chillier than Eldoret, and smells faintly of cut grass. There’s a unique sort of tranquil calm that I can’t quite describe. At altitude 8,000 feet, I find myself out of breath when I jog up a small hill. The views of the plunging Rift Valley are spectacular. The sunset is worth waking up for, and I say that as someone who is unequivocally not a morning person. In the chilly month of August, dinner is served in front of a cozy fire. We sipped coffee and ate breakfast on the terrace, overlooking that gorgeous view.

dscn0348

dscn0356dscn0355dscn0349

20160816_170450

One thought on “One of my new favorite places on earth

  1. Pingback: The most interesting place I’ve ever been | Teaching - Learning - Living

Leave a Reply

